2019-2020  Member, Committee on Academic Technology, CUNY

2017-2019  Member, CUNY Center for the Humanities Oral Histories and Radical Archiving working group

2017-2020  President, Open Access Network Advisory Board

2014-2017  Member, Empire State Digital Network Advisory Committee

2013-2015  Co-PI (with Jessie Daniels) JustPublics@365

2011-2020  Secretary, CUNY Graduate Council

2014- 2018  Member, Beyond Citation Advisory Board

2014-2019  Member, Harrington Park Press Library Advisory Board

2011-2012  Chair, CUNY Office of Library Services – University Faculty Senate Institutional Repository Task Force

2009-2010  Co-chair, CUNY Office of Library Services Public Services Committee

2008-2010  Member, Professional Staff Congress CUNY Research Award Program Library Panel

2008  Organizer, ALMS II International GLBT Archives Conference, CUNY Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies

2007-2008  Chair, CUNY Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies Board of Directors

2006  Co-leader, Association of College & Research Libraries delegation to China

2005-2007  Member, Intra-CUNY Borrowing Task Force

2005-2007  CUNY Library Information Literacy Action Committee, Assessment Chair

2005  Co-organizer (with Marcia Gallo), Looking at Lesbian Feminism Conference, CUNY Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies

2005-2009  CUNY Office of Library Services Circulation Services Committee

2004-2008  Events Chair, CUNY Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies Board of Directors

2004  Editor/Advisor, Berlin Schwules Museum Permanent Exhibit, English translation

2000  Program Co-chair (with Teresa Neely), Big Twelve Plus Diversity Now Conference

1995-2000 Member, Advisory Committee, Alternative Press Center, Alternative Press Index

1997-1998  Member, Advisory Board, NISC Gay and Lesbian Abstracts

1986-1997  Member, Lesbian Herstory Archives Coordinating Committee

1994-1996  Member, Hunter College Senate

1987-1989  Chair, American Library Association Gay and Lesbian Book Award Committee

1987-1989  Chair, American Library Association Feminist Task Force